• Slim, compact and extremely powerful: The Eickhoff SL 750
  • The world‘s biggest shearer loader: The Eickhoff SL 1000

Mining Technology

Well ahead in underground mining

Eickhoff and the mining industry are inextricably linked. Components for underground use were among the first products of the company – and when Europe‘s first bar coal cutter was put into operation as a complete Eickhoff system as early as in 1914, a virtually unique success story started in underground mining. So it did not take long until Eickhoff coal mining machines were exported to all parts of the world, with an initial bulk order coming in from Russia in 1926. And it was in the middle of the 70’s that Eickhoff was the first Western supplier to be approved for mining equipment in China.

From the very beginning, the Eickhoff engineers have dedicated their extensive experience and deep passion to the development of better and better machines with ever-increasing efficiency and reliability. By doing so, the limits of feasibility are often being redefined as is the case with the maximum cutting height of the shearer loaders: In 2001, the commissioning in South Africa and China of two shearer loaders designed for a cutting height of 5.5 m, was a world record. The year 2007 saw the initial operation of the Eickhoff SL 1000 – with a cutting height of as much as 6 m. Meanwhile, a shearer loader for 7.2 m is operating at Bulianta Colliery in China which is, of course, another world premiere. And very soon the Eickhoff SL 1000 for a cutting height of 8.6 m will be put into operation – yet another world record!

Eickhoff underground mining machines are known for their robust and reliable design and excel by their quality in day-to-day operation.

They are more powerful, offer higher availability rates and have a significantly longer life than competing products. All that translates into production records. Shangwan Colliery in China, for instance, recorded a monthly production rate of over one million tons of coal as early as in 2003. An Eickhoff machine is also a record holder in Australia: Here again, an SL 750 shearer loader produced an output rate of more than one million tons of coal at Oaky North Colliery.

Apart from high reliability it is the continuous innovations which contribute to the non-stop setting of new production records and make the Eickhoff shearer loaders more and more efficient. The EiComatik system, for example, originally controlled the shearer loader speed in relation to the cutter motor load. EiControl initiated the start of automated cutting. And EiCotrack, by the way, is an Eickhoff-invented chainless haulage system for shearer loaders which is meanwhile international standard and comes in multiple versions and designs. These further developments have been, and are, regular award winners.

• Schlank, kompakt und extrem leistungsstark: Eickhoff SL 750
  • Der größte Walzenlader der Welt: Eickhoff SL 1000

Bergbaumaschinen

Unter Tage ganz vorn

Eickhoff und Bergbau gehören untrennbar zusammen. Komponenten für den Einsatz unter Tage gehörten zu den ersten Erzeugnissen des Unternehmens – und als 1914 mit der ersten Stangenfräsmaschine Europas bereits ein Eickhoff-Komplettsystem den Betrieb startete, begann unter Tage eine ganz eigene Erfolgsgeschichte. Die Eickhoff-Kohlengewinnungsmaschinen wurden bald in die ganze Welt exportiert, ein erster Großauftrag aus Russland kam schon 1926. Und Mitte der 1970er-Jahre wurde Eickhoff als erster westlicher Lieferant überhaupt für Bergbauausrüstung in China zugelassen.

Seit jeher arbeiten die Eickhoff-Ingenieure mit viel Erfahrung und noch mehr Leidenschaft daran, immer bessere, effizientere und zuverlässigere Bergbaumaschinen zu entwickeln. Regelmäßig werden dabei die Grenzen des Machbaren erweitert, etwa bei der maximalen Schneidhöhe der Walzenlader: Als 2001 in Südafrika und China zwei Walzenlader mit 5,5 Metern Schneidhöhe in Betrieb gingen, war das Weltrekord. 2007 kam erstmals der Eickhoff SL 1000 zum Einsatz – bereits mit einer Schneidhöhe von 6 Metern. Inzwischen läuft im chinesischen Bergwerk Bulianta ein Walzenlader mit 7,2 Metern, natürlich ebenfalls eine Weltpremiere. Und schon bald geht der Eickhoff SL 1000 mit 8,6 Metern Schneidhöhe in den Einsatz – erneut Weltrekord!

Die Untertage-Bergbaumaschinen von Eickhoff sind bekannt für ihr robustes und zuverlässiges Design und zeichnen sich im alltäglichen Betrieb durch ihre Qualität aus. Sie sind leistungsstärker, haben höhere Verfügbarkeiten und haben eine signifikant höhere Lebensdauer als Konkurrenzprodukte. Das schlägt sich in Produktionsrekorden nieder. So wurde schon 2003 im chinesischen Bergwerk Shangwan eine monatliche Fördermenge von über einer Million Tonnen Kohle verzeichnet. Auch in Australien hält eine Eickhoff-Maschine den Rekord: Ein SL 750 lieferte im Bergwerk Oaky North ebenfalls mehr als eine Million Tonnen Kohle.

Neben der hohen Zuverlässigkeit sind für das ständige Erreichen neuer Produktionsrekorde auch fortwährende Innovationen verantwortlich, die die Eickhoff-Walzenlader immer effizienter machen. So wurde etwa seinerzeit mit EiComatik die Walzenladergeschwindigkeit in Abhängigkeit der Schneidmotorbelastung gesteuert. Mit EiControl wurden die Anfänge des automatisierten Schneidverfahrens eingeleitet. Und EiCotrack hingegen ist ein ursprünglich von Eickhoff erfundenes, kettenloses Vorschubsystem für Walzenlader, das inzwischen in vielfältigen Varianten und Ausführungen internationaler Standard ist. Diese Weiterentwicklungen wurden und werden regelmäßig preisgekrönt.