• Growing mobility: urbanisation requires suitable transportation
  • Growing efficiency: raw materials need to be transported intelligently

Future prospects

Mobility for tomorrow
If we had one word to describe the future of the world in the coming years and decades – it would be growth! The spiralling expansion of the world’s population is creating ever-growing, increasingly closely connected mega-cities. Our need for energy and raw materials, both for industry and private consumption, will also continue to grow, along with our awareness of the need for sustainability and greater environmental compatibility. This knowledge has led Schalke to pinpoint three key mega-trends, for which it is capable of providing suitable solutions: urbanisation, the extraction of raw materials, and efficiency.

Getting cities on the move
According to the United Nations, up to five billion people will be living in cities by the year 2030. New megacities with millions of inhabitants will develop, with new needs in terms of infrastructure and mobility, particularly in Asia and Africa. This urbanisation will lead to a growing demand for public transportation. New metros and underground rail systems will be needed to cope quickly and smoothly with the growing numbers of people. This is where the reduced loading gauge locomotives made by Schalke come in. They can be used for a wide range of service tasks that help keep the lifelines of the new mega-cities flowing.

Extracting mineral resources economically
At the same time, mankind needs increasing volumes of raw materials. Alongside conventional sources of energy, ores are in demand, which are again being increasingly searched for and mined below ground. In order to work both safely and economically in this environment, semi- and fully automatic systems are called for with transport solutions capable of working around the clock – even under the most difficult conditions. The current and future mining locomotives made by Schalke are utilised wherever the tunnels are lower, the gradients steeper and the curves tighter. Schalke is in continual collaboration with the global players of the sector, busy developing complete systems for rail transportation that are custom-built with amazing precision to suit the situation at each mining site.

Intelligently preserving resources
The mega-trend towards greatest possible efficiency has always driven the company’s development. Schalke has a long, proud tradition of creating innovation and has always looked for intelligent ways of using resources sparingly as well as new drive technology and energy supply options – like Schalke ModuTrac locomotives, for example. Systems such as the in-house developed power pack, a highly efficient energy module that can be replaced within a very short time, help to utilise energy intelligently and precisely adapt it to suit each individual situation. This ability will also continue to be one of Schalke’s inherent strengths going in the future: the ability to devise individually tailored solutions, with a passion for performance and the strength gained from experience.

• Immer mobiler: Urbanisierung verlangt passende Transportmittel
  • Immer effizienter: Rohstoffe müssen intelligent transportiert werden

Ausblick

Mobilität für morgen
Die Zukunft der Welt in den nächsten Jahren und Jahrzehnten auf einen Begriff reduziert? Wachstum! Nicht nur die Bevölkerungszahl steigt, auch werden immer größere, dichter vernetzte Metropolen entstehen. Unser Bedarf nach Energie und Rohstoffen für Industrie und Privatverbrauch wird ebenso weiter wachsen, wie das Bewusstsein für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften und größere Umweltverträglichkeit. Aus dieser Erkenntnis heraus hat Schalke drei wesentliche Megatrends abgeleitet, zu denen das Unternehmen passende Lösungen liefern kann: Urbanisierung, Rohstoffabbau und Effizienz.

Städte in Bewegung bringen
Im Jahr 2030 – so rechnen die Vereinten Nationen – werden bis zu fünf Milliarden Menschen in Städten leben. Besonders in Asien und Afrika entstehen immer neue Millionenmetropolen, mit neuen Anforderungen an Infrastruktur und Mobilität. So führt die Urbanisierung zu einem wachsenden Bedarf an öffentlichen Massenverkehrsmitteln, neue Metros und U-Bahnen sollen die Menschenströme schnell und reibungslos bewältigen. Hier sind Kleinprofilloks von Schalke gefragt, die für verschiedenste Serviceaufgaben eingesetzt werden, und so die Lebensadern der neuen Mega-Cities funktionsfähig halten.

Bodenschätze wirtschaftlich gewinnen
Gleichzeitig braucht die Menschheit mehr Rohstoffe. Neben konventionellen Energieträgern sind vor allem Erze gefragt, die verstärkt auch wieder unter Tage gesucht und abgebaut werden. Um hier ebenso sicher wie wirtschaftlich arbeiten zu können, sind halb- oder vollautomatische Systeme gefragt, mit Transportlösungen, die rund um die Uhr laufen – auch unter schwierigsten Bedingungen. Aktuelle und zukünftige Minenlokomotiven von Schalke arbeiten dort, wo die Tunnel niedriger, die Steigungen steiler oder die Kurven enger sind. Für die Entwicklung von individuellen und genau an die jeweiligen Standorte angepassten Komplettsystemen für den Schienentransport in Minen kooperiert Schalke schon jetzt mit Global Playern der Branche.

Ressourcen intelligent schonen
Den Megatrend zur größtmöglichen Effizienz begleitet das Unternehmen ebenfalls bereits heute. Schalke steht für größte Innovationsfreude aus langer Tradition. Ressourcen werden sinnvoll und sparsam eingesetzt und neue Wege, etwa in der Antriebstechnik oder der Energieversorgung, gesucht. Stichwort: Schalke ModuTrac-Lokomotiven. Systeme wie das eigens entwickelte Powerpack, ein leistungsstarkes und innerhalb kürzester Zeit austauschbares Energiemodul, helfen dabei, Energie sinnvoll und genau an die jeweilige Situation angepasst einzusetzen. Hier liegt auch in Zukunft eine wesentliche Stärke von Schalke: Individuelle Lösungen finden, mit Leidenschaft für Leistung und der Kraft aus Erfahrung.