• The Gelsenkirchen Schalke plant in 1953

History

Know-how spanning three centuries
The Schalke locomotive success story had its origins in Gelsenkirchen and – like nearly all stories from the Ruhr district – it all began with mining. On 21 August 1872, Friedrich Grillo founded Schalker Eisenhütte Maschinenfabrik GmbH, a company that manufactured machinery and spare parts for use in underground mining. These included brakes, trucks, winding drums and tempered cast steel for the wheels of mine cars and trucks. The enterprise also produced coke oven equipment and castings in clay and sand as well as hard iron castings. Right from the beginning, Schalke products were known for their robustness, enduring strength and reliability – ideal for daily use in extremely rugged conditions.

Ten years later, Schalke built the first coke pusher machines. These gigantic steam-driven “monstrosities” were the forerunners of a series of coke oven machinery that also included transfer cars, guide machines and quenching cars. At that time, locomotives were used to pull the coke oven machinery – and therefore Schalke took the next logical step and began building locomotives in its own right. The company’s portfolio was soon enlarged to include coke quenching cars and transport locomotives, all with the reliability that had become typical for Schalke. The powerful working machinery became popular – and opened up a promising market for the future. In 1937 Schalke began producing 70-tonne catenary wire locomotives for mining brown coal in the Rhine district. By 1954 the company had built a total of 34 locomotives, cooperating with renowned electric companies such as Siemens, AEG and BBC to manufacture the first dual-mode catenary wire and battery-powered mining locomotives. Schalke’s expertise in the field of locomotives therefore grew contin-ually, particularly when it came to innovative and alternative drive systems.

Joining forces
In 1968 Schalke joined forces with the Bochum-based Gebr. Eickhoff Maschinenfabrik u. Eisengießerei GmbH, which also specialised in building strong, sturdy machinery and had its origins in the mining sector. In the years that followed, Schalke concentrated not only on coke oven technology, but also in-creasingly on locomotives, beginning with units specially designed for use in coal mining. That was how the Ruhrkohle AG standard locomotive came into being. It was first manufactured in 1993, developed and purpose-built for Germany’s underground ignite coal mining and delivered more than 120 times, making the name Schalke a synonym for dependable rail vehicles in the mining sector. The company gained a worldwide reputation and since the 1980s, among other customers, Schalke has supplied more than 20 locomotives for two different mines operated by CODELCO in Chile.

This hard-won knowledge and the experience gained in manufacturing rail vehicles specially designed for tough working conditions were also ideal for transferring to other fields, which led to Schalker Eisenhütte consistently expanding its range of products to include multi-purpose service locomotives for urban rail transport systems, welding vehicles, rail grinding machines and platform vehicles, such as those produced for the Berlin public transport system (BVG). In record time, Schalke also built the “CargoTram” rail freight vehicle for the environmentally friendly and economical transportation of car parts to VW’s so-called “Gläserne Manufaktur” car plant in Dresden. Whether above ground or in the underground tunnels of major cities, customers benefit from Schalke’s main advantages: incredi-ble flexibility in finding custom-made solutions and experience that spans three centuries.

• Werk Gelsenkirchen Schalke im Jahr 1953

Historie

Know-how aus drei Jahrhunderten
Die Erfolgsgeschichte der Schalke-Lokomotiven beginnt in Gelsenkirchen – und wie fast alle Ruhrgebietsgeschichten startet sie mit dem Bergbau. Am 21. August 1872 gründet Friedrich Grillo die Schalker Eisenhütte Maschinenfabrik GmbH, ein Unternehmen, das Maschinen und Maschinenteile für den Einsatz unter Tage herstellt. Dazu zählen Bremsen, Förderwagen, Drahthaspeln oder getemperter Gussstahl für Räder von Gruben- und Förderwagen. Auch Bedarf für Kokereien und Gussstücke in Lehm, Sand und Hartguss werden produziert. Von Anfang an zeichnen sich die Schalke-Produkte durch ihre Robustheit aus – sie sind ausdauernd und zuverlässig. Wie gemacht für einen überaus rauen Alltag.

Zehn Jahre später baut Schalke die ersten Koksausdrückmaschinen. Es sind gewaltige, dampfgetriebene „Ungetüme“ und der Ursprung einer Serie von Kokereimaschinen, zu denen auch Türabheber, Kokskuchen-führungsmaschinen und Kokslösch-wagen gehören. Zum Ziehen der Kokereimaschinen wurden zu dieser Zeit Lokomotiven eingesetzt – darum geht das Unternehmen einen logischen nächsten Schritt: Schalke baut selbst Lokomotiven. Das Portfolio wird durch Kokslösch- und Abraumlokomotiven erweitert, mit der Schalke-typischen Zuverlässigkeit. Die kraftvollen Arbeitsmaschinen setzen sich durch – und öffnen ein vielversprechendes Zukunftsfeld. In 1937 startet die Produktion von 70t-Fahrdrahtlokomotiven für den rheinischen Braunkohletagebau. Bis 1954 werden insgesamt 34 Lokomotiven gebaut, bei der Produktion kooperiert Schalke mit den namhaften Elektro-unternehmen Siemens, AEG und BBC, erste Fahrdraht- und Akkugrubenlokomotiven gehen auf die Schiene. So wächst die Kompetenz für Lokomotiven kontinuierlich weiter, auch was innovative und alternative Antriebe betrifft.

Mit vereinter Kraft
Seit dem Jahr 1968 gehört Schalke zur Bochumer Gebr. Eickhoff Maschinenfabrik u. Eisengießerei GmbH, ebenfalls Spezialist für starke und belastbare Maschinen mit Wurzeln im Bergbau. In den Folgejahren konzentriert sich Schalke neben der Kokereitechnologie immer mehr auf Lokomotiven, zunächst auf Bergbauloks für den Kohlebergbau. So entsteht in 1993 die Ruhrkohle-einheitslok, die speziell für den Deutschen Untertage-Steinkohlebergbau entwickelt und mehr als 120 Mal ausgeliefert wird – der Name Schalke ist längst ein Synonym für zuverlässige Schienenfahrzeuge unter Tage. Auch weltweit: So hat das Unternehmen seit den 1980er-Jahren unter anderem über 20 Loks für zwei verschiedene Bergwerke des Minenbetreibers CODELCO in Chile ausgeliefert.

Das so erworbene Know-how und die Erfahrung im Bau von Schienenfahrzeugen für harte Arbeitsbedingungen bieten sich geradezu für einen Transfer an. Nur konsequent erweitert die Schalker Eisenhütte ihr Produktspektrum: Vielseitig einsetzbare Service-Loks für den Personennahverkehr, etwa Schweißfahrzeuge, Schienenschleifmaschinen oder Plattformwagen, entstehen unter anderem für die Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG). Auch baut Schalke in Rekordzeit die Güterstraßenbahn „CargoTram“, die umweltfreundlich und wirtschaftlich Autoteile zur VW-Fabrikationsstätte „Gläserne Manufaktur“ in Dresden transportiert. So spielt Schalke auch über Tage oder in den U-Bahn-Tunneln von Großstädten seine Hauptvorteile aus: enorme Flexibilität für individuelle Lösungen und die Erfahrung aus drei Jahrhunderten.