• Versatile for the mountains: universal locomotive in use by Rhaetian Railway in Switzerland

GMF 4/4 287

Diesel-electric locomotive
Schalke developed the four-axle GMF 4/4 287 diesel-electric locomotive especially for the needs of the “Infrastructure” department of Switzerland’s Rhaetian Railway. Its design fulfils a broad range of basic requirements for special circumstances, as the railway has a narrow loading gauge (tunnel gauge) and a low axle load of 16 tonnes. The narrow, metre-gauge track gauge includes small curve radii as tight as 40 metres. The locomotive is particularly suitable for high-altitude areas with steep slopes of 70‰ as an adhesion railway. Moreover, it is reliable under extreme climatic conditions: its application range stretches from temperatures of -35 °C to +40 °C and it even runs on fine, crystalline snow.

The implementation of these technical challenges has been combined with the integration of numerous specific components. For example, the locomotive is fitted with four different types of brake system, possess-es the ability to run in multiple unit operation of up to three locomotives and is capable of a maximum speed of 100 km/h.

The official operating authorisation granted by the Swiss Federal Office of Transport (Schweizer Bundesamt für Verkehr - BAV) also makes this diesel locomotive unique on the market. Its main duties comprise the transportation of heavy construction trains or special-purpose trains, even if the catenary wire is switched off, the operation of snow blowers in the winter, the rescue of trains that have broken down and shunting in various districts.

In use by Rhaetian Railway
Rhaetian Railway operates locomo-tives on spectacular routes, some of which are under UNESCO World Heritage protection. The routes feature very tight curve radii and ex-tremely steep ascents and descents.

- High power density with 1,800 kW, low axle load and small loading gauge
- Designed to withstand extreme conditions such as cold and steep gradients
- Newly developed bogie for maximum speed of 100 km/h and small curve radii as tight as 40 metres
- Integration of four different brake systems

Technical Data

Power Module: Diesel Engine
Power Transmission: AC
Weight: 64 t
Axle Arrangement: Bo’Bo’
Track Gauge: 1,000 mm
Power: 1,800 kW
Length: 16,690 mm
Width: 2,650 mm
Height: 3,885 mm
Maximum Speed: 100 km/h
Tractive Effort: 210 kN (at μ=0,33)

• Vielseitig fürs Gebirge: Universallokomotive für den Einsatz bei der Rhätischen Bahn.

GMF 4/4 287

Dieselelektrische Lokomotive
Die vierachsige dieselelektrische Lokomotive Gmf 4/4 287 ist eine besondere Entwicklung von Schalke für den Bereich „Infrastruktur“ der Rhätischen Bahn in der Schweiz. Ihr Design erfüllt verschiedenste Grundanforderungen für besondere Gegebenheiten: So verfügt die Bahn über ein kleines Lichtraumprofil (Tunnelprofil) und eine geringe Achslast von 16 Tonnen. Als Schmalspurbahn mit Meterspur fährt sie kleine Bogenradien von bis zu 40 m und ist für hochgelegene Einsatzgebiete mit hohen Steigungen von 70 ‰ als Adhäsionsbahn besonders geeignet. Außerdem ist die Lokomotive auch unter extremen klimatischen Bedingungen zuverlässig einsatzfähig, ihr Einsatzbereich reicht von -35°C bis +40°C, auch bei feinkristallinem Schnee ist sie fahrbereit.

Die Umsetzung dieser technischen Herausforderungen wurde vereint mit der Integration einer Vielzahl spezifischer Komponenten. So verfügt die Lokomotive unter anderem über vier verschiedene Bremssysteme, eine Mehrtraktionsfähigkeit von bis zu drei Lokomotiven und erreicht eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 100 km/h. Auch die offizielle Betriebsbewilligung des Schweizer Bundesamts für Verkehr (BAV) macht sie auf dem Markt für Diesellokomotiven einzigartig.

Ihr Haupteinsatzzweck ist der Transport von schweren Bau- oder Spezialzügen auch bei abgeschaltetem Fahrdraht, der Betrieb von Schneefräsen im Winter, das Abschleppen von havarierten Zügen und das Rangieren in den Bahnmeisterbezirken.

Im Einsatz: Rhätische Bahn
Bei der Rhätischen Bahn fahren die Lokomotiven auf einer spektakulären Strecke, die teilweise zum UNESCO Welterbe gehört. Sie ist durch sehr enge Bogenradien und sehr anspruchsvolle Steigungen und Gefälle gekennzeichnet.

- Hohe Leistungsdichte mit 1.800 kW bei geringer Achslast und kleinem Lichtraumprofil
- Konzipiert für extreme Bedingungen wie Kälte und große Steigungen
- Neu entwickeltes Drehgestell für Höchstgeschwindigkeit 100 km/h und kleine Kurvenradien von bis zu 40 m
- Integration von vier verschiedenen Bremssystemen

Technische Daten

Energiemodul: Dieselmotor
Antriebsstrang: Wechselstromtechnik (AC)
Gewicht: 64 t
Achsanordnung: Bo’Bo’
Spurweite: 1.000 mm
Leistung: 1.800 kW
 Länge: 16.690 mm
Breite: 2.650 mm
Höhe: 3.885 mm
Max. Geschwindigkeit: 100 km/h
Max. Anfahrtszugkraft: 210 kN (bei μ=0,33)